Your safe, healthy, and legal guide to cannabis consumption in Mississippi.
At Rootdown, we know that cannabis can be a powerful tool for your overall mental and physical well-being, but we also know that many people are still unsure whether cannabis is right for them—and cautious about the technicalities of consuming it within the bounds of the law.
We’re here to help with your ultimate guide to cannabis consumption in Mississippi.
Here’s everything you need to know about purchasing and consuming legal medical cannabis to support your overall wellness—from eligibility guidelines to qualify under Mississippi’s medical cannabis program to the legal protections of using a medical marijuana card.
Eligibility and Requirements
- Parkinson’s disease
- Huntington’s disease
- Muscular dystrophy
- Spastic quadriplegia
- Positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV)
- Acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS)
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS)
- Crohn’s disease
- Ulcerative colitis
- Sickle-cell anemia
- Alzheimer’s disease
- Agitation of dementia
- Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD)
- Pain refractory to appropriate opioid management
- Diabetic/peripheral neuropathy
- Spinal cord disease or severe injury
- Cachexia or wasting syndrome
- Chronic pain
- Severe or intractable nausea
- Severe and persistent muscle spasms including, but not limited to, those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
Yes. While technically you can apply for a medical card as a non-resident, the program is designed for the health and well-being of Mississippi residents.
To participate in Mississippi’s medical marijuana program, you must:
- Be at least 18 years of age or older. Patients under 18 years of age must have parental consent.
- Have a current diagnosis of a debilitating medical condition.
- Hold a written certification from a doctor.
- Be a Mississippi resident with proof of residency (valid Mississippi driver’s license or state ID card).
- Not hold a school bus permit or commercial driver’s license (CDL)
- Not be an active duty law enforcement officer, correctional officer, correctional probation officer, or firefighter.
Any government-issued identification card, such as a driver’s license or state-issued ID card, are acceptable.
Initiative 65 does not expressly require cannabis patients to be Mississippi residents; however, it is a federal crime to transport cannabis across state lines, so make sure to consume whatever you buy before you leave the state.
Before obtaining your card, you must become a certified patient by getting an in-person exam from a doctor who can determine whether you have a qualifying condition. Your doctor will then certify you as a medical cannabis patient and issue a certification which you will need to file with the state department of health, the governing body responsible for issuing medical marijuana cards.
No. Practitioners must be a physician or physician assistant licensed to prescribe medicine by the MS State Board of Medical Licensure, who has registered with MSDH prior to issuing a written certification for a person seeking to participate in the medical cannabis program and completed eight hours of continuing education on cannabis wellness.
The Mississippi Cannabis Patient Alliance has a helpful list of practitioners by area. You can also ask your doctor’s office for a referral.
The state requires a practitioner’s certification to move forward with your application, so unfortunately you’ll need to wait until a certification is available for your application to clear.
After receiving your practitioner’s certification, register with the online portal. When you register, choose the type of application you intend to make, and follow instructions to complete the application.
Once you complete your application and upload supporting documents, there is a 30-day review and approval time. Patient identification cards are made available within five days of application approval.
The application fee for your medical card is $25, plus $25 for every annual renewal. If you are a disabled veteran or first responder, you may apply for the application fee to be waived.
Once you get your medical card, you are allowed to legally enjoy the wellness benefits of cannabis. Registered patients are also protected from discrimination in child custody disputes and in reference to gun rights.
It depends. You cannot get a medical card if you have been convicted of a disqualifying felony offense, which the state defines as:
- A conviction for a crime of violence as defined by state law in Miss. Code Ann §97-3-2.
- A conviction for a crime that was defined as a violent crime in the law of the jurisdiction in which the offense was committed, and that was classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted.
- A conviction for a violation of a state or federal controlled substances law that was classified as a felony in the jurisdiction where the person was convicted, including the service of any term of probation, incarceration or supervised release within the previous five (5) years and the offender has not committed another similar offense since the conviction. Under this subparagraph, a disqualifying felony offense shall not include a conviction that consisted of conduct for which this chapter would likely have prevented the conviction but for the fact that the conduct occurred before the effective date of the MS Medical Cannabis Act.
Unfortunately under Mississippi law, employers can refuse to hire or take adverse employment action against anyone, “as a result, in whole or in part, of that individual’s medical use of medical cannabis.”
No. Medical cannabis is legal in the state of Mississippi, and consumers will not face any legal repercussions.
Yes. According to the Mississippi Medical Cannabis Act, no state or local agency can prevent medical cannabis patients from obtaining or possessing a firearm.
No. Transporting cannabis across state boundaries remains illegal.
According to the state of Mississippi, “A resident cardholder shall not obtain more than a total of six (6) MMCEUs of allowable medical cannabis in a week from a dispensary or a combination of dispensaries. A resident cardholder shall not obtain more than a total of twenty-four (24) MMCEUs of allowable medical cannabis in thirty (30) days from a dispensary or a combination of dispensaries. Miss Code Ann. § 41-137-39.”
Usage and Access
Medical cannabis must be purchased from licensed dispensaries, such as Rootdown.
All forms of cannabis are available to medical patients, including flower, edibles, concentrates, topicals, and more. Speak to a Rootdown budtender to find out what form best suits your needs.
Yes. Cardholders can only purchase 6 MMCEUs, or Mississippi Medical Cannabis Equivalency Units, per week. One MMCEU is equal to 3.5 grams of medical cannabis flower, 1 gram of medical cannabis concentrate, or 100 milligrams of THC in an infused product.
Medical cannabis users are free to consume their products on any privately owned properties.
Yes. You may purchase from as many dispensaries as you want, as long as you don’t purchase more than 24 MMCEUs of cannabis per month.
Benefits and Drawbacks
Cannabis cardholders are able to safely and legally consume the products they need to treat their qualifying medical conditions. They also enjoy the legal protections provided by a cannabis card.
No. All cannabis purchased must be used by the cardholder who purchases it. However, you can assist your friends in obtaining medical cards of their own.
No. Your medical cannabis card ensures your ability to legally consume cannabis and enjoy its wellness benefits.
You can find a complete list of licensed dispensaries on the Mississippi’s department of revenue’s website here.
Renewal and Expiration
Your medical cannabis card is valid for one year after the date of issue, unless your provider specifies an earlier date.
You can renew your card via the online portal, following the same process you used to obtain your card the first time around. You’ll need another provider attestation, as well as completed application.
Once your medical card expires, you’ll have to begin the application process from step one, following the instructions issued by the state. You’ll have to secure a provider attestation, complete the online application, and upload the required documents.
So there you have it: the ultimate guide to using Mississippi medical marijuana the safe, healthy, and legal way. Still have questions? Come to Rootdown for an in-person consultation with one of our knowledgeable budtenders. We’re always here to help.